Enable taking pre-auths

You can use the pre-auth feature to check if a customer’s payment card has enough funds to pay for an order and save the card information to ensure the customer pays for the order. With this feature, you don’t need to worry about keeping customer cards since the information is saved on your Clover device.

For example, you own a bar and want to make sure customers have enough money on their payment cards and that the customer doesn’t walk out without paying. The pre-auth feature lets you check the funds on a card and saves the card information to ensure payment is made.

To use this feature, you must first enable it in the Setup app.

Good to know

If you do not see the Enable pre-auth checkbox in the Setup app, contact Customer Support and ask them to enable “Tip Adjust” on your account.

Feedback